The House of the Owls is hidden in the park of Villa Torlonia in Rome's Nomentano neighborhood and until 1938 was the home of Prince Giovanni Torlonia.
This lovely building originally was a simple "Swiss Cabin" style simple and century, hidden among small hills of Villa Torlonia in which the prince used to spend his free time, away from their families and from servitude working within the his main home. Only after many years and thanks to the creativity of various artists, the building took this characteristic and unique appearance.
The first changes
The artist chose to restructure the original hut was, in 1840, Giuseppe Japelli who used wood and tuff rocks to erect buildings from rustic, connected by an external gallery and an underground passage. In the early twentieth century building another image thanks to the medieval style that it acquired with the introduction of large windows, balconies, porches and turrets decorated with tiles and stained glass of many colors that have embellished. The name of the building is called the little house of owls because of the decorations and furniture inside the owls are the only protagonists, this decorative element applicant was personally chosen by Prince lover of esoteric symbols.
Interiors and decorations
Inside spaces are on two levels and the beauty is particularly noticeable in the attention to detail and finishes, paintings, mosaics, wood carvings, wrought iron made him the most beautiful villa in Rome. The most beautiful part of the windows, the windows are in perfect Art Nouveau installed between 1900 and 1930 have been specially designed and painted to fire. The roof and the other distinctive feature because in contrast to the predominant gray other colors like burgundy, turquoise, yellow and green that make a spectacle of polychrome decorated with acanthus leaves. The first floor of the House of the Owls has three dining rooms, the Fumoir, the Room of owls decorated with wood paneling, ie the inlays on wood panels that form the walls adorned with brass details.
With the Second World War, in 1944, the hoot owls began to be destroyed by the bombing of the Americans, and only in 1978 the Municipality of Rome decided to take care of starting to organize its restoration, especially after the fire of 1991 that led to the degradation of the interior building.
So in 1997 it was concluded the restoration that gave new life to one of the most unique buildings in the city now a museum with customizable routes between halls of ancient beauty.